ADHD-Life


Day 31, 32 & 33 on Strattera
August 17, 2006, 12:45 pm
Filed under: Blogroll, Testing Strattera

Day 132 & 33 on Strattera

How I feel

Very tired, really extreme for a few days now.
It’s so terrible to be tired all the time.
But lately it’s more extreme again.

And also fustrated because I had to write this posting again and again……

Complains/ side effects

The usual, dry mouth, tiredness, toiletgoing problems etc.

ADHD effects

Also the usual ones.
At getting a little boring to write the same everyday.
I’m going to bed soon,zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Theo

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi Theo, I took Strattera for about 2 years, had the same kind of side effects, especially not being aware of my bladder. Blegh. It did help with concentration and just being able to sit still.

I have gradually stopped taking it and have been free of it for almost a year now. Taking the medicine helped me find the time and inclination to investigate other therapies. I found that journaling helped a lot with the ADHD symptoms. Also ‘lifestyle therapy’ is a big help. Try to eliminate as much drama from your life as possible, and vary your routines. A big part of the frustration that you may experience is likely to come from the fact that you can’t do everything the same exact way every time. This was a big thing for me, but I overcame it by purposely doing things differently, turning it into a game. I also take daily supplements of Omega 3 fish oil and grapeseed extract, very helpful and healthier!
I would suggest a couple of books for you, if you haven’t read them already:
Driven To Distraction : Recognizing and Coping with Attention Deficit Disorder from Childhood Through Adulthood and Delivered from Distraction: Getting the Most out of Life with Attention Deficit Disorder. both are by Edward M. Hallowell and I found them to be extremely helpful in identifying behaviors and suggested therapies. Good luck!

Comment by Shoulung

Hi Shoulung!

Thanks for the tips!
I’ve never heard of this grapeseed extracts before, but I sure will look it up.
I’ve heard about the both books you mentioned, but not read them ( yet)
Thnks again!

Theo

Comment by mrtheo




Leave a Reply

