ADHD-Life


Day 25,26 and 27 on Strattera
August 17, 2006, 12:32 pm
Filed under: Blogroll, Testing Strattera

Day 25,26 and 27 on Strattera

How I feel

Pretty good.
Although I missed 3 days of writing, so I will write about them all in this posting.
But I have been keeping it up daily for 24 days, that’s a record for me!
So I’m still happy with that, but of course I haven’t given up.
I will be serious again from now on.
It’s hard, very hard, but I refuse to let ADHD rule my life.
My goal is to have a good live, despite my ADHD.
I will be successful with my relationships, my work, my own companies etc.
I feel like I don’t have a grip on my life, but I will get that back.
I want and will get control back over my own life.
ADHD or not, I will not only survive, I will have a constant daily victory!
Because if I don’t believe in myself, who will?
Well I have to admit that I could never be this strong without God in my life.
And my wife, I give her allot of headaches, but she is always there for me.
Really if it wasn’t for God and my wife, I don’t know what I would have for a life!

Complains/side effects

The usual ones: Dry mouth, weak in the legs that makes me so tired,
although that is getting better and better.
Sweating’ s, really it’s already April, but we still have snow outside.
Although it is starting to melt now.
But everybody is walking in winter jackets, when I get this sweating ‘s I have
to take of my jacket, and walk around in my shirt. Otherwise I’m getting crazy.

ADHD effects

Like I wrote earlier, I feel a difference.
But not as much as I hoped for, but allot better then before.
Normally I had this stress and hunted feeling 24 hours a day.
But now that is gone, well most of the times.
But I still have a hard time not getting irritated so quickly.
I still have a hard time listening.
I still have a hard time to start thinking before I react on what others say.

You know I had a attitude most of my life.
I was expecting people not to like me.
And if they did, they could still not be long around me.
That did not happen all the time, but most of the times.

But that still has an effect on my life now.
Then I did not understand why people found it so hard to be around me.
Now I am allot wiser, first of all do I know now that I have ADHD.
That explains not only my problems I had in life, but also how people responded on me.
And why they could not be to long around me, or simply didn’t like me.
I was not easy to be around with. In that times I felt sorry for myself and blamed others.
Theo few friends I did have, them I really appreciated and was very thankful for those friendships.

Now, since I know better I don’t blame others anymore.
I also don’t blame myself, but just try to make the best of it.
And enjoy the talents I do have.
Not all of them, because producing and hosting radio programs
was a job I did for many years in Holland.
My Swedish is not good enough so I don’t do it here in Sweden.
I don’t have so much time anymore with a fulltime job and
2 own companies. But still that is where I am really good in.
So I am still dreaming that I can get paid for making an English
Gospel program on radio. Not the typical gospel programs you might think of now.
I never made those standard programs, I always had my own way of hosting a show with
spontaneous talks, good music and some humor.
Well who know it might still happen, right?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hello Theo,

I follow your posts and the results you are having.

Has it ever occurred to you that some of the benefit you are seeming to get might be related to the fact that you have a blog and are communicating?

this might sound strange, but it definitely is a possibility.

Anything we examine consciously, including an illness, will tend to lessen in intensity.

Just a thought…

Posted by: Sepp Hasslberger | 04/06/2006

Comment by mrtheo

Hi Sepp,

I will think about it.
It’s a very interesting point you make here.
Wisdom is coming with age, because if something didn’t ‘fit’ in my thinking, I wouldn’t even take time to think about it.

But I will think about what you wrote.
You might have a point.

Thanks for reading and thinking along!

Theo

Posted by: Theo | 04/07/2006

Comment by mrtheo




Leave a Reply

